Brickroad
Brickroad
IndexSignalsBlog
/Index//

Product

  • Information Frontier Agent
  • Vendor Management Agent
  • Product Tour
  • Pricing

Solutions

  • All Solutions
  • Atlas
  • Wayfinder
  • Horizon

Suppliers

  • Sell Your Data
  • Start Onboarding
  • Programmatic Data License

Community

  • Public Index
  • Signals
  • Blog

Company

  • About
  • Team
  • Careers
  • Brand

Connect

  • LinkedIn
  • X
PrivacyTermsCookies

© 2026 Brickroad

/Index/Steelonthenet/Plant-level global steel asset and capacity database
S

Plant-level global steel asset and capacity database

STEELONTHENETManage supplier listing

Plant-level global steel asset and capacity database: roughly 4,500 steel and iron-making facilities worldwide each recorded with ownership, operational status, address and geolocation coordinates, and nameplate capacity disaggregated by process and product stage (iron-ore preparation, coke plants, blast furnace, BOF and EAF steelmaking, casting, hot and cold rolling, plate, HRC, CRC, galvanised coating, sections, rail, bar, rod and tube), with capacity changes tracked annually from 1990 to 2024 and long-term projections running to 2040, plus companion proprietary tables of 1,342 capital-investment projects, 192 steel M&A transactions with valuations, 50 corporate histories, plant-level production cost models for electric-arc and basic-oxygen routes plus freight, and 132 country demand series with 50-plus years of production, consumption and trade history.

Open buyer room →
Steelonthenet/Plant-level global steel asset and capacity database
SampleCoverage

Sample

Brickroad customers

Sample this dataset before you buy it.

Your sourcing agent asks Steelonthenet and files the sample in your catalog — private to you.

Start 7-day trial→Nothing is charged until the trial ends.

Coverage

Universe, instruments and categories.

Industry
SteelFinancial Exchanges & Data
Instruments
equitiesfixed_incomecommodities
Categories
AlternativeFundamentalReferenceGeospatialSupply Chain
Regions
UKUSAPACOther
Sample tickers
XSTLDNUEMT.AS005490.KSSID.NSVALEPKX
Dataset card
Type
not stated
Format
Tabular — sold as priced PDF reports (individual capacity reports listed at 500 US dollars each) with the underlying statistical series supplied separately as electronic data files requiring a separate purchase, accessed through a subscription platform with tiered corporate packages and a one-week trial, and available as bespoke consultancy studies; maps of plant locations are rendered on-site
Volume
Roughly 4,500 facility records each carrying multi-series capacity data across the 1990-2024 span (on the order of several hundred thousand plant-year-product observations), plus 1,342 capital-investment project records, 192 M&A transactions with valuations, 50 corporate histories, 132 country demand assessments with 50-plus years of annual production, consumption and trade series per country, plant-level cost models by route, and interactive location maps.
Users
0-500 paying corporate subscriber accounts — there is no open registration base: access is by priced report purchase (capacity reports at USD 500 each), separately purchased data files, or a negotiated corporate subscription with a one-week trial, so accounts track institutional subscribers (governments, banks, producers, law firms) rather than registered individuals.
History
35 years
Update frequency
not stated
Growth
Active — the plant database is stated as updated as of 30 June 2025 with capacity series carried to 2024 and current-year historical data published, the firm lists 2026 capacity and freight publications, subscription tiers with a live trial are running, and a continuous capacity-change tracking process is described.
Launched
The web platform dates from the early-to-mid 2000s (Metals Consulting International Limited is an England and Wales company registered in 2003, and the SteelOnTheNet site was built as its public data storefront); the underlying capacity register itself is far older, resting on 45-plus years of the principal's steel-capacity work and 25-plus years of facility visits, with usable series from 1990.
Delivery
not stated
Entity mapping
not stated
Sample
not stated
Point-in-time
not stated
Licence
not stated

supplier index read from their site

Steelonthenet has not added their own details yet. Not yet on file:

  • Dataset
  • Data dictionary
  • Coverage
  • Provenance
  • Rights & data handling