- Type
- not stated
- Format
- Tabular + API — structured price records delivered through a documented REST API (API Reference at /api-docs) plus WebSocket streaming and webhook alerts, with CSV / Excel / JSON / PNG / SVG chart export. Tier-gated: the free tier allows only limited CSV export (5/month) and a 30-minute data delay, while API access is metered at 10,000 calls/month on the top paid tier and real-time/WebSocket is enterprise-only.
- Volume
- Very large relative to team size — on the order of 15,000-25,000 discrete price observations per day (500+ markets x roughly 30-50 tracked commodities per market), i.e. several million observations per year and a mid-seven-figure archive once a full year is accumulated. Supporting counts on the site: 500+ markets, 37 states, regional breakdown of 120+ markets South West (Lagos, Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Ondo, Ekiti), 85+ South East (Anambra, Enugu, Imo, Abia, Ebonyi), 90+ South South (Rivers, Delta and neighbours), plus a markets/sellers/supermarkets directory.
- Users
- Not disclosed — bounded as an early-stage consumer base, likely tens of thousands of signups. Basis: a free accounts system (signup plus sign-in to save favourites and alerts) with self-serve Paystack subscription checkout, but a 3-person company and no published user count or app-store ranking.
- History
- 1 years
- Update frequency
- not stated
- Growth
- Active and rapidly shipping — the feature list carries 'NEW' badges across Supermarkets, Indexes, Historical Price Check, Compare, Export, News, Order Pricing and AI; refresh cadence runs to real-time with WebSocket streaming; and the site advertises a contributor community with a leaderboard and chat. No funding event disclosed; growth appears organic and self-funded at 3 staff.
- Launched
- ~2025-2026 (est.) — copyright footer reads 'FoodPrices Nigeria © 2026', a large share of the feature set is still flagged NEW, the social presence is freshly built (a Facebook page identified only by numeric id rather than a vanity handle), and no pre-2025 press mention, funding round or archive appears anywhere. Treat 2025 as the most likely launch year for the platform as it currently exists.
- Delivery
- not stated
- Entity mapping
- not stated
- Sample
- not stated
- Point-in-time
- not stated
- Licence
- not stated